9. Chocolate and Praline Traybake

Heading to Hollywood

This week I opted for another recipe from the GBBO book, chocolate praline traybake, and feeling brave it was a recipe without a picture, duh duh duhhhhhhhh! First hurdle was to purchase blanched almonds but, alas, there were none so I decided to try and blanch my own (not recommended, if they are available then just pay the extra 40p).

I read a through a few methods online and decided to go with putting them in the oven for about 10 minutes until the skins ‘fell’ off. Some did fall off, some didn’t budge at all, but after rolling them in a tea towel and picking skins off I got them relatively ‘blanched’ (i.e. peeled).

I then roasted them and while they were doing I whisked 6 egg whites into soft peaks to start the sponge mixture. I took a picture because I thought the peaks looked funny!

I added sugar, flour, cocoa, and the…

View original post 266 more words

Leave a Reply

