Red Beans and Rice

Balance and Blueberries

This dish gets two thumbs up for being budget friendly, quick, easy, and delicious. Not that I’m any expert, but the taste was reasonably authentic. On the other hand, what do I know? I’m from North of the Mason Dixon.

IMG_2341

I used this recipe, thanks to its rave reviews, only I halved it. If I hadn’t, we would have been eating red beans and rice for the next month.

Now, a word on the beans you use. There is such a thing as a “red bean.” They can be found. I, however, could not find them. So I used kidney beans (which also fall under the category of red beans, but aren’t Red Beans). It’s not the end of the world one way or the other, but if you can find real red beans, then by all means, use them.

Happy cooking!

View original post

Leave a Reply

